Congratulations to the BSSC Competition Vehicle teams who won the Open Secondary category and were placed second in the Mixed Senior Secondary class at the Wonthaggi Human Powered Vehicle Grand Prix last weekend.

After dealing with cyclonic weather on Friday evening, the teams were relieved to have fine weather for race day. Wonthaggi is notorious for its changing conditions, but the skies cleared and by the time the 24-hour race got underway at midday on Saturday, conditions were good.

The BSSC teams posted some great times and, apart from a four-minute rebuild of the roof on one of the vehicles, reliability was superb.  By midday on Sunday the Open team was more than 30 laps ahead of their closest rival and the Mixed team was firmly cemented in second position.

The Wonthaggi Grand Prix is a 24-hour event attracting around 150 teams from across the country. The BSSC teams are selected by staff and students on the basis of fitness tests, dedication during class and out of class time and student subject results. Students race in teams of eight over a 1.4 km street circuit with the seniors completing a 24-hour non-stop race. It is a test of endurance for both competitors and vehicles.

Congratulations to all the participating students:

Open Secondary Team: Nathan Burrell, Sam Dean, Cooper Gaylor, Jeremy Pearson, Ethan Hanley, Nic Simpson, Tristan Todd, Thorne Wilson

Mixed Secondary Team: Mady Atherton, Shelby Gahan, Emily Kinder, Jas Kinder, Brayden Parsons, Callum Varker, Ant Wardel, Zach Wilson

A special thanks to our pit crew Mitch Larson and Matt Wilkinson who did not sleep all night and worked incredibly hard.

Also a huge thanks to all the staff who helped out – John Cordedda, Peter Hamilton, Tim White and from LaTrobe, Bec Danaher.