Our AFL boys 2nd XVIII team were defeated by Catherine McAuley College in today’s first round of the Sun Country Cup.
CMC got off to a flying start and kicked four goals in each of the first two quarters to lead 8.8.56 to 0.3.3 at half time. Our boys lifted their work rate after the break and outscored the opposition five goals to two in the third quarter to go into the final break 34 points down.
CMC kicked away again in the final quarter to eventually win 14.12.96 to 7.7.49
Goal kickers: Tim Johnston 3, Tyler Wastell 2, Mason Hartland 1, Riley Paetow 1
Best player medal: Riley Paetow
Well done to all team members: Will Beagley, Alex Carr, Jacob Cassells, Tomas Dingfelder, Aidan Douglas, Harrison Frischke, Mason Hartland, Robbie Hodges, Edward Jenkyn, Tim Johnston, Lucas Keating, Darcy Langdon, Connor Lee, Kai Lister, Zack Miller, Ollie Muggleton, Riley Paetow, Broden Plowright, Max Quinn, Ryan Stubbs, Tyler Wastell, Ben Wigginton, coaches
Dean Sheldrick and Travis Matheson, runner Matt Noden, water carrier Zac Tickell, and boundary umpires Michael Court and Matthew Sexton.