Players, coaches and support staff of the BSSC Lions Premier League football team gathered in the Strategem Studio at lunchtime on Wednesday for the count of the 2017 Peter Hunt Medal.

In a tightly contested count, defender Nathan McHugh polled 21 votes, to win the medal ahead of Billy Robertson on 17 and Phil Moi Moi on 14. Nathan polled well in three of the five games this season, including a unanimous best on ground performance against Hallam in the semi-final at the QEO.

Director of Sport, Drew Cathcart, said the Peter Hunt medal was a great way to cap off an almost perfect season for the BSSC Lions.

“The way the players conducted themselves this season and the outstanding results are a credit to our coaching and support staff,” he said.

This year’s senior coach was Rick Coburn, supported by Dean Sheldrick, Travis Matheson and Bill Higgs. Drew made special mention of Shirley Wallis, who for the past 10 years has been timekeeper, property steward, official scorer, provider of half-time snacks, and vocal supporter of the team.

The Peter Hunt medal is presented in honour of the former South Bendigo footballer and triathlete who was a great supporter of the sporting program at BSSC in both football and basketball. Peter was a life member of both the South Bendigo Football-Netball Club and the Bendigo Triathlon Club.

“Peter lost his life in a cycling accident in March 2016 and is still greatly missed by the college and wider community,” Drew said.