It was an incredibly diverse group of musicians who took to the Bendigo Bank Theatre stage for tonight’s BSSC Musician of the Year concert.

After 11 outstanding performances that covered everything from classical and jazz, rap and metal, to folk and musical theatre, it was vocalist Morgan McDermott who was named 2019 Musician of the Year.

Special guest Adjudicator, Sean Evans, praised the standard of performances and encouraged students to “own the stage”.

“Always take a moments to pause, breathe and centre yourself,” he said. “Be in control of your voice or your instrument from the moment you step onto the stage.”

He also gave students some useful tips for their upcoming Music Performance exams.

“Be ready for anything,” he said, “because it WILL happen.”

There were three other awards judged by Mr Evans. The Effort Award went to guitarist, Kristian Knight. The Honour Award was presented to rapper, Jacob Brown and the Audience Award was shared by pianist Charlie Davis-Tope and Musician of the Year, Morgan McDermott.

Congratulations to all tonight’s performers: Luka Cordedda, Nadia Phillips, Liam Wernert, Aisha Quattrocchi, Charlie Davis-Tope, Aaron Manix, Tom Forrest, Jacob Brown, Jack Robertson, Kristian Knight and Morgan McDermott.

A BIG thank you to accompanist, Peter Butler and special guest performer, 2017 Musician of the Year, Sean Nudl.

See more photos on Facebook