Players and coaches of the BSSC Lions SSV Premier League team gathered at the Strategem Theatre at lunchtime today for the presentation of the 2023 Peter Hunt Medal.

Now in its seventh year, the medal is presented to BSSC’s Best and Fairest player in the AFL Premier League Team.

This year’s winner is Year 11 student, Jed Daniels, who polled 17 votes in the Lions’ 2023 campaign.

Runner-up was Pala Kuma, on 12 votes, with Jack O’Shannessy and Rory McCrann-Peters taking out third place, with 8 votes each.

Congratulations to everyone who pulled on a Lions guernsey in 2023 and represented the college with great spirit and passion.

The Peter Hunt Medal is presented in honour of the former South Bendigo footballer and triathlete who was a great supporter of the sporting program at BSSC in both football and basketball. Peter was a life member of both the South Bendigo Football-Netball Club and the Bendigo Triathlon Club.

Peter lost his life in a cycling accident in March 2016 and is still greatly missed by the college and wider community.

Jed joins past winners Wade Donnan (2016), Nathan McHugh (2017), James Schischka (2018), Brodie James (2019), Mitch Hallinan (2021) and Carson James (2022).

Congratulations Jed!