BSSC is extremely proud of the achievement of our students from all subject areas and pathways, and their success was celebrated in style at our Awards ceremony in Ulumbarra on Wednesday evening.

“Our awards ceremonies honour students and staff who have a commitment to achieving their personal best, whether that is at the college or in a broader community sense” said Principal Dale Pearce

Gabriela Giggins was named Student of the Year and Sarah Seery is college Dux for 2015. Gabriela was co- president of Student Council and a Victorian School representative at the Gallipoli centenary dawn service – she was an outstanding role model and student leader in the college.

Sarah Seery with an ATAR of 98.4, and a perfect study score of 50 in Legal Studies was dux. Sarah worked consistently throughout the year maintaining a balance between her dance commitments and her studies.

Matthew Tivendale won the Florence Anderson Award, and has been an active student leader serving on Student and College Councils for two years. In that time he has hosted college events and organised many college fundraisers and service projects.

Sports star of the year Zac Sheehan is an inspiration to all. He never lets disability hinder his passion for cricket. Zac plays cricket in the Victorian Blind Cricket Association and early next year will take the field with the Australian team to play for the Ashes.

Members of staff were also recognised for their important role in guiding and supporting students and establishing links to our community. This year the valuable contributions of Alison Richards, Anton Van Maanen and Paul Galaska were acknowledged in the three awards for staff.

More than 300 students were recognised for excellence in academic studies and contributions to both the college and broader community. While many awards are for academic excellence and extra-curricular community contribution, our sporting teams had a particularly memorable year.

The college community congratulates all award recipients on their outstanding achievements.